Establishment History

The establishment history of the Administration Division dates back to the foundation of St. Mary’s College in 1998 at the status of Administrative Dean’s Office. Pursuant to the institution’s development and expansion, the division was upgraded to the level of Vice President Office, following the revised organizational structure of the then St. Mary’s University College (now St. Mary’s University). Under this office, there are three major departments, namely, Human Resource Management, Finance & Property Administration and Marketing and Development offices.

At the end of 2006 E.C, immediately after being promoted to a full-fledged University by the Higher Education Relevance and Quality Agency, the Senate made minor structural adjustments and the Business and Administration Division. The Property & Facility Management and General Services was upgraded as one major department and the Marketing and Development Office was moved to another pertinent office.

Looking into the university’s continuous development, the management, after evaluating the accessibility, efficiency and effectiveness of the organizational structure and services, refined it in November 2016 (Hidar 2009EC) in such a way that it responds to the needs of its stakeholders.

With this result, the current organizational structure of Business and Administration Division constitutes the Admin Council, Executive Committee, the VP, Human Resource Management, Finance Management, Property, Facility & General Services, Legal Services and Audit & Inspection offices as major departments.


The Business and Administration Division is located at St. Mary’s University head office Lideta Sub-City, Woreda 10, Roosevelt Street, a walking distance South of the Federal Police Commission Head Quarter. The Head Office, among other various offices, houses the admin division. The central archives office is found at the ground floor office No 0.4. The Human Resource officers, Human Resource Manager and Deputy Manager, Finance Deputy Manager and Budget Section, Vice President and Finance Manager’s Offices are on the 1st floor from No. 1.8 – 1.12, respectively. The legal services office is located on the 4th floor office No 4.7 and the Audit & Inspection office is located in the undergraduate campus - Building 3, first floor.

Major Responsibilities

The major responsibility of the Division is to deliver support services to the institutional academic operation as per the Senate legislation.

To mention some of the responsibilities, the VP for Business & Administration Division and his staff, shall have the duties and responsibilities to:

        1. advise and assist the President in matters related to finance & administration;
        2. direct and coordinate, in agreement with the President, the general limits of administrative and financial activities of the University;
        3. provide leadership on efficient management of facilities and resources;
        4. ensure implementation of recruitment and promotion of staff as per the University rules and regulations;
        5. ensure that necessary support, which enables the university deliver efficient services to its customers, is provided from the admin wing; and
        6. develop and maintain smooth working relationships between the administrative service units and the academic wing.


Main Campus

Tel. -251- 0115 52 45 66

P. O. Box: 1211

Email: (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.)

Addis Ababa